Math 104

Winter 2015

Topics in Topology

Homework

 

Lectures

Sections in Text

Homework

Monday January 5

Chapter 1

Exercise 1.1 page 3, Exercise 1.6 page 7 

due Wednesday January 14

Wednesday January 7

Chapter 1

Exercise 1.8 page 31, Exercise 1.12 page 31 

due Wednesday January 14

Friday January 9

Chapter 2

Exercise 2.3 page 33, Exercise 2.1 page 48 

due Wednesday January 14

Monday January 12

Chapter 2

Exercise 2.7 page 48

due Wednesday January 21

Wednesday January 14

Chapter 2

Exercise 2.13 page 49

due Wednesday January 21

Friday January 16

Chapter 3

Exercise 3.1 page 75

due Wednesday January 21

Monday January 19

MLK day classes moved to x-hour

 

 

Tuesday January 20

x-hour instead of the class on January 19

Chapter 3

Exercise 3.4 page 75

due Wednesday January 28

Wednesday January 21

Chapter 3

Prove items a, b, c of Proposition 4.6

due Wednesday January 28

Friday January 23

Chapter 4

Exercise 4.2 page 96

due Wednesday January 28

Monday January 26

No class

Tuesday January 27

x-hour instead of the class on January 26

Chapter 4

Exercise 5.1 page 123

Due Wednesday February 4

Wednesday January 28

Chapter 5

No homework

Due Wednesday February 4

Friday January 30

Chapter 5

Exercise 6.7 page 128

Due Wednesday February 4

Monday February 2

Chapter 6

Exercise 7.2 page 151

Due Wednesday February 11

Tuesday February 3

x-hour instead of the class on February 6

Chapter 6

Exercise 8.9 page 177

Due Wednesday February 11

Wednesday February 4

Chapter 7

Exercise 8.1 page 199

Due Wednesday February 11

Friday February 6

Carnival Holiday classes moved to x-periods

Chapter 7

Monday February 9

Middle of the term presentation and discussion Monday February 9-Friday February 13

No class

Chapter 7

No Homework

Tuesday February 10

x-hour instead of the class on Friday February 9

 

No Homework

Wednesday February 11

Chapter 7

No Homework

Friday February 13

No class instead we will have Middle of the term presentation and discussion scheduled for each student individually

Chapter 8

No Homework

Monday February 16

Chapter 8

Exercise 11.7.a page 300

due Wednesday February 25

Wednesday February 18

Chapter 11

Exercise 12.1 page 324

due Wednesday February 25

Friday February 20

Chapter 12

Exercise 12.7 page 325

due Wednesday February 25

Monday February 23

Chapter 12

Exercise 14.2 page 357

Due Wednesday March 4

Wednesday February 25

Chapter 12

Exercise 14.6.a page 375

Due Wednesday March 4

Friday February 27

Chapter 13

Exercise 15.2 page 397

Due Wednesday March 4

Monday March 2

Chapter 14

Prove Proposition 16.6.a

Due Monday March 9

Wednesday March 4

Chapter 14

Prove Proposition 16.6.b

Due Monday March 9

Friday March 6

Special graduate open house lecture to be held in Haldeman 041

Chapter 14

No Homework

Monday March 9

Chapter 14

No Homework

End of the term presentation and discussion Thursday March 12 Saturday March 14