Math 14

Winter 2011

Vector Calculus, Honors Section

Written Homework

The WeBWorK homework assignment can be found here

 

Lectures

Sections in Text

Brief Description

Wednesday, January 5

Sections 1.1-1.5

Exercise 21.a on page 62, Exercise 17 on page 88 in written form due Wednesday January 12

Friday, January 7

Sections 1.5, 2.1, 2.2

Exercise 12 on page 87, Exercise 8 on page 125 in written form due Wednesday January 12

Monday January 10

Section 2.2

Exercise 17.b on page 126, Exercise 25 on page 127 in written form due Wednesday January 19

Wednesday January 12

Sections 2.3 and 2.3

 Exercise 12.a on page 140, Exercise 19 on page 141 in written form due Wednesday January 19

Friday January 14

Sections 2.5 and 2.6

Exercise 9 on page 160 (You have to use the matrix form of the chain rule) and Exercise 20 on page 161 in written form due Wednesday January 19

Monday January 17

MLK day, no class. Instead we have an x-hour on Thursday January 20

 

 

Wednesday January 19

First Project will be distributed on this date. It will be due Wednesday January 26.

Sections 2.6 and 3.1

 Exercise 19, page 173 (Hint: you may want to use the limit definition of partial derivatives and compare the right hand side and the left hand side limits.) in written form due Wednesday January 26

Thursday January 20

x-hour instead of the class on Monday January 17

Section 3.2 and 3.3

 Exercise 11, page 191, Exercise 6 page 202 in written form due Wednesday January 26

Friday, January 21

Section 3.3

 Exercise 27, page 223 in written form due Wednesday January 26

Monday, January 24

Sections 3.3 and 3.4

Exercise 19 on page 223 and exercise 13 on page 244 in written form due Wednesday February 2

Wednesday January 26

The first homework project is due on this date

Section 3.4 and 3.5

Exercise 2 on page 253, exercise 9 on page 254 and exercise 12 on page 255 in written form due Wednesday February 2

Friday, January 28

Section 4.1

Exercise 13 on page 274 in written form due Wednesday February 2

Monday, January 31

First Midterm Exam 6-8 PM in Kemeny 108

Sections 4.2 and 4.3

Exercise 18 page 294 in written form due Wednesday February 9

Wednesday, February 2

Section 4.4

Exercises 25 and 31 on page 312 in written form due Wednesday February 9

Thursday, February 3

x-hour

Sections 5.1 and 5.2

Exercise 12 on page 340 in written form due Wednesday February 9

Friday, February 4

Sections 5.3 and 5.4

Exercise 13 on page 354  in written form due Wednesday February 9

Monday, February 7

Section 5.5

Exercise 12 on page 354, Exercise 6 on page 364 in written form due Wednesday February 16

Wednesday, February 9

The Second Homework Project will be distributed on this date. It will be due on Friday February 18

Section 6.1 and 6.2

 Exercise 6 on page 390 and Exercise 8 on page 391 in written form due Wednesday February 16

Thursday, February 10

x-hour instead of the class on February 11

Sections 6.3 and 6.4

 Exercise 9 on page 405 in written form due Wednesday February 16

Friday, February 11

Carnival Holiday. No class. Instead we will have an x-hour on Thursday February 10

 

 

Monday, February 14

Sections 7.1 and 7.2

Exercise 13 on page 428, Exercise 4 on page 447  in written form due Wednesday February 23

Wednesday, February 16

Section 7.3

Exercise 4 on page 459 in written form due Wednesday February 23

Friday, February 18

The Second Homework Project is due on this date.

Section 7.4 and 7.5

Exercise 11 on page 472, Exercise 2 on page 480 and Exercise 3 on page 480 in written form due Wednesday February 23

Monday, February 21

Second Midterm Exam

6-8 PM in Kemeny 108

Sections 7.6 and 8.1

Exercise 11 on page 499 and Exercise 10 on page 529 in written form due Wednesday March 2

Wednesday, February 23

Final day to withdraw from a course; any later request to withdraw from a course requires petition to a special committee

Section 8.2

Exercise 12 on page 529, Exercise 15 on page 548 in written form due Wednesday March 2

Friday, February 25

Section 8.3

 Exercise 18.b on page 549, Exercise 16 on page 560 in written form due Wednesday March 2

Monday, February 28

Section 8.4

 Exercise 16 on page 575 and Exercise 18 on page 575 in written form due Wednesday March 9

Wednesday, March 2

Section 8.6

 Exercise 22 on page 575, Exercise 1 (parts c and d only) on page 603, Exercise 3 (parts b and d only) on page 604 in written form due Wednesday March 9

Friday, March 4

Section 8.6

Exercise 8 on page 604, Exercise 10 on page 605 in written form due Wednesday March 9

Monday, March 7

Section 8.6

Let Φ(u1, u2, u3)=(u3+3u1, sin(u3), u2, u1, u1u2) with

0≤u1≤1, 0≤u2≤2, 0≤u3≤5, be an orientation preserving parameterization of the oriented 3-dimensional surface ∑in R5. Compute ∫ ω, where ω=x1dx3^dx4^dx5+ 3x2dx1^dx3^dx4 in written form due Wednesday March 9. There is no WeBWorK assignment for this day.

Wednesday, March 9

  Wrap Up

There will be neither written nor WeBWorK homework assignment for this day. J   

Saturday, March 12

Final Exam

11:30 AM 2:30 PM in Haldeman 028