Math 23

Differential Equations

Tentative Lecture plan

 

 

 

This lecture plan is tentative and it will not be updated. The homework page will be updated on the regular basis

 

Lectures

Sections in Text

Brief Description

Monday September 10

1.1, 1.2 and start 1.3

Differential equations, solution, direction fields

Wednesday September 12

1.3, 2.1 

Classification of differential equations, Linear and Separable equations, integrating factors

Friday September 14

2.2, 2.4

Nonlinear equations, and more about

Monday September 17

2.3

Modeling with differential equations

Wednesday September 19

2.5, 2.6

Autonomous equations and population dynamics. Start Exact equations.

Thursday September 20

x-hour

2.6

Exact equations integrating factors

Friday September 21

3.1, 3.2

Homogeneous equations with constant coefficients, their solutions, Wronskian

Monday September 24

3.3, 3.4

Complex roots, repeated roots

Wednesday September 26

3.4

Reduction of order

Friday September 28

3.5

Non-homogeneous equations, method of undetermined coefficients

Monday October 1

First Midterm Exam is

6-8 PM Tuesday October 2

in Carpenter 013

3.6

Variation of parameter

Wednesday October 3

3.7, 3.8

Mechanical and Electrical vibrations, forced vibrations

Thursday October 4

x-hour for Chernovís section

4.1, 4.2 

N-th order linear differential equations, homogeneous equations with constant coefficients 

Friday October 5

No class for Chernovís section, instead this section has an x-hour on October 4. Melikhoví section meets on this day

 

 

Monday October 8

4.3

Method of undetermined coefficients

Wednesday October 10

4.4

Variation of parameter

Friday October 12

5.1, 5.2

Powers series and series solutions near an ordinary point

Monday October 15

5.3, 5.4

Series solutions near an ordinary and near a regular singular point

Wednesday October 17

7.1, 7.2

Introduction to systems of first order linear differential equations, review of matricies

Friday October 19

7.3

Linear independence, eigen values and eigen vectors

 Monday October 22

Second Midterm Exam

is 6-8 PM on Tuesday October 23

in Carpenter 013

7.4, 7.5

Some basic theory of systems of first order differential equations, systems with constant coefficients

Wednesday October 24

7.6

Complex Eigen Values

Thursday October 25

x-hour

7.8

Repeated eigen values

Friday October 26

Homecoming weekend

No class, instead we have an x-hour on

Thursday October 25

 

 

Monday October 29

10.1

Two point boundary value problem

Wednesday October 31

10.2

Fourier Series

Friday November 2

10.3, 10.4

Fourier Convergence Theorem, Even and odd functions and their fourier series

Monday November 5

10.5

Separation of variables heat conduction in a rod

Wednesday November 7

10.6

Other heat conduction problems

Friday November 9

10.7

Wave equation

Monday November 12

Wrap up

Wrap up

Wednesday November 14 - Thursday November 15

Pre-Examination Break

 

 

Math 23 Final Exam is 11:30-2:30 PM on Friday November 16

in Kemeny 008

 

 

Final Examinations begin on Saturday November 16 and end on Tuesday November 20