The Functional Analysis Seminar Page

MathematicsDepartment

DartmouthCollege

General Information

Time  1:

Tuesdays  10:00 – 11:00 am

Room 1:

120 Kemeny Hall

Time  2:

Thursdays 10:00 – 11:00 am

Room 2:

120 Kemeny Hall

This Summer we are using Functional Analysis Seminar to do a course on K-Theory.
We are using notes compiled by Dana Williams. To view the notes click here


Summer 2007  Schedule

Date

Speaker

Title

Thursday, June 14, 2007

Dana Williams

Dartmouth College

Definition of K0

Tuesday, June 19, 2007

Matt Mahoney

Dartmouth College

Portrait of K0 and why projections close to each other are unitary equivalent

Thursday, June 21, 2007

Jon Brown

Dartmouth College

Some more results on projections in C* algebras

Tuesday, June 26, 2007

Matt Mahoney

Dartmouth College

The continuity of K0

Thursday, June 28, 2007

Matt Mahoney

Dartmouth College

The continuity of K0 2

Tuesday, July 3, 2007

Jon Brown

Dartmouth College

Stability and K0

Thursday, July 5, 2007

Dana Williams

Dartmouth College

Homotopy

Tuesday, July 10, 2007

Dana Williams

Dartmouth College

Homotopy 2

Thursday, July 12, 2007

Dana Williams

Dartmouth College

Homotopy 3

Tuesday, July 17, 2007

Dana Williams

Dartmouth College

Half Exactness

Thursday, July 19, 2007

Dana Williams

Dartmouth College

Definition of K1

Tuesday, July 24, 2007

Dana Williams

Dartmouth College

Definition of K1 2

Thursday, July 26, 2007

No Seminar

No Seminar

Tuesday, July 31, 2007

No Seminar

No Seminar

Thursday, August 2, 2007

No Seminar

No Seminar

Tuesday, August 7, 2007

Matt Mahoney

Dartmouth College

Weyl Correspondence POSTPONED

Thursday, August 9, 2007

Matt Mahoney

Dartmouth College

Weyl Correspondence

Tuesday, August 14, 2007

Matt Mahoney

Dartmouth College

Weyl Correspondence 2

Thursday, August 16, 2007

Matt Mahoney

Dartmouth College

Weyl Correspondence 3 POSTPONED

Tuesday, August 21, 2007

Matt Mahoney

Weyl Correspondence 3

Thursday, August 23, 2007

Matt Mahoney

Dartmouth College

Weyl Correspondence 4



InterestingWebsites:

1.) K-theoryPreprint Archives by Dan Grayson and Rick  Jardine (Univ. of Illinois @ Urbana-Champaign)

2.) OperatorAlgebra Resources by N. Christopher Phillips (Univ. of Oregon)

3.) TheCounterexamples in Functional Analysis Home Page by Mohammad Sal Moslehian(Iran)

4.) NoncommutativeGeometry.net A website for researchers in Noncommutative Geometry.

5.) InterestingMathematics. A blog by John Roe (Penn State) on interesting research papersand web links.

6.) Alain Connes’homepage. Here is the webpage of Fields medalist Alain Connes, founder ofNoncommutative Geometry, which uses Functional Analysis methods to studypathological geometric and topological spaces.

7.) Noncommutative Geometry Blog



Previous Terms:

Contact: Jody Trout