Homework

Each assignment is listed with what day it's assigned, not what day it's due.

Readings and daily exercises should be done before the next class period.

WeBWorK assignments and weekly written assignments are due on the Wednesday of the week after they are assigned; WeBWorK is due online by noon, and the written assignment is turned in at the beginning of class.

Here are the expectations for each type of assignment.


This week: January 15–19

WeBWorK is due Wednesday January 24.

Weekly written homework (due Wednesday January 24): 11.9. 20; 11.10. 17, 78.

Tuesday January 16 (Troyka) or Wednesday January 17 (Chernov):
  • Reading: 11.9.
  • Daily exercises: 11.9. 13, 15, 16, 40.
  • WeBWorK: Set 6.
Wednesday January 17 (Troyka) or Thursday January 18 (Chernov):
  • Reading: 11.10 (up to and including Example 3).
  • Daily exercises: 11.10. 5, 13, 15, 19, 23.
  • WeBWorK: Set 7.
Friday January 19:
  • Reading: 11.10 (the rest).
  • Daily exercises: 11.10. 39, 43, 49, 55, 63.
  • WeBWorK: Set 8.


Next week: January 22–26

WeBWorK is due Wednesday January 31.

Weekly written homework (due Wednesday January 31): 11.11. 21, 25; 12.2. 26.

Monday January 22:
  • Reading: 11.11.
  • Daily exercises: 11.11. 5, 7, 19(a,b), 23, 26.
  • WeBWorK: Set 9.
Wednesday January 24:
  • Reading: none.
  • Daily exercises: to be determined.
  • WeBWorK: to be determined.
Friday January 26:
  • Reading: 12.1, 12.2.
  • Daily exercises: 12.1. 13, 45; 12.2 25, 34, 39.
  • WeBWorK: to be determined.


Past weeks


January 8–12

WeBWorK is due Wednesday January 17.

Weekly written homework (due Wednesday January 17): 11.3. 31; 11.6. 21; 11.8. 30.

Monday January 7:
  • Reading: 11.3.
  • Daily exercises: 11.3. 2, 8, 13, 23, 27.
  • WeBWorK: Set 3.
Wednesday January 9:
  • Reading: 11.6.
  • Daily exercises: 11.6. 7, 9, 19, 43.
  • WeBWorK: Set 4.
Friday January 11:
  • Reading: 11.8.
  • Daily exercises: 11.8. 7, 15, 18 (radius of convergence only) and 32.
  • WeBWorK: Set 5.


January 3–5

WeBWorK is due Wednesday January 10.

No written assignment this week.

Wednesday January 3:
  • Make sure you are familiar with the first six chapters of the textbook, particularly Chapter 2 (derivatives) and Chapter 4 (integrals).
  • Reading: 11.1.
  • WeBWorK: Set 1.
  • No daily exercises for today
Friday January 5:
  • Reading: 11.2.
  • Daily exercises: 11.2. 23, 34, 45, 57.
  • WeBWorK: Set 2.